Chicago, IL (August 17, 2015)— The Illinois Safe Schools Alliance will host An Alliance Homecomingon September 25, 2015 at the Museum of Broadcast Communications (360 N State St), with a VIP Reception at 5:30pm and the general event at 7pm. The event features restaurant tastings, a silent auction, awards, dancing and drinks.  Similar to the Alliance’s former event “the Brunch”, the Homecoming honors heroes in the safe schools movements who fight to ensure that LGBTQ and allied youth have access to inclusive learning environments. This year, the Alliance will award the Advocate of the Year award to Senator Heather Steans (D-Il) and Senator William Delgado (D-Il) for facilitating a dialogue with the Illinois School Board of Education regarding the appointment of Rev. James Meeks, and for helping the Alliance seek assurance that students, particularly LGBTQ youth, would be supported across Illinois. The Alliance will honor the Berwyn South School District 100 with the Ally of the Year award for spearheading an LGBTQ taskforce to implement a comprehensive policy to ensure that students in gender transition will be supported, in addition to providing training to teachers, staff and administrators, and increasing the inclusive nature of their curriculum.

The Alliance’s Executive Director, Anthony Papini congratulated the awardees, adding that—“While the Brunch has been wildly successful, I am excited about the new energy around the Alliance Homecoming celebration! It is a prime opportunity to honor heroes and partners in the safer schools movement in Illinois. Homecoming is a tradition at many schools of welcoming back alum, celebrating the past and present, and culminating with a fun and festive dance. We will welcome back numerous past youth leaders and celebrate our ‘Homecoming Heroes’ who are transforming the landscape for LGBTQ students across Illinois.”

The Alliance is also appreciative of the generous and continued support of its corporate sponsor Exelon, and the leadership of its event chairs, Grant Miller and Lorenza Taylor, and honorary chairs, including former Alliance youth activists and Activist of the Year awardees—Dillin Dee, Abraham Kindahl, Katya Mazon and Emmett Milliken.

Tickets are available on the Alliance website, here. A special $25 Earlybird discount is available through September 1. General tickets are $100 and VIP tickets are $175. (VIP tickets include admission to the VIP reception featuring hors d’oeuvres, signature cocktails, “buy-now” auction items, and special guests).